Have you been charged with Minor in Consumption of alcohol or Underage Consumption in Tucson?  Have you consulted with an experienced underage drinking attorney in Pima County?

Underage Consumption/Minor in Consumption of Alcohol

If you have been charged with Minor in Consumption of Alcohol you may be wondering about the implications of an underage drinking conviction.  The legal age for consuming alcohol in Arizona is (21) twenty-one years of age.  Underage Consumption or Minor in Consumption of Alcohol (MIC) is a violation in which someone under the age of 21 has been found with a traceable amount of alcohol in their system.  A Minor in Consumption violation is a Class 2 Misdemeanor.  Punishments vary depending upon the offender, but some penalties include:

Up to (2) two year suspension of driver’s license

Fine up to $500 and court costs

Community service

Alcohol awareness classes

Misdemeanor conviction on criminal record

Other Underage Drinking Related Crimes in Tucson, Arizona

If you are under (21) twenty-one and have been caught possessing alcohol rather than consuming it, you will likely be charged with Possession of Alcohol by a Minor.  Possession of Alcohol by a Minor carries similar penalties to a Minor in Consumption charge.

Another underage drinking related crime is Presenting False Identification for the Purpose of Purchasing Alcohol.  Arizona has very stringent penalties concerning false ID’s.  Presenting False Identification for the Purpose of Purchasing alcohol is a Class 1 Misdemeanor, with the following possible penalties:

Up to a $750 fine

Up to (4) four months in jail

Alcohol abuse and treatment program

Class 1 Misdemeanor conviction on your criminal record

The most serious charge related to underage drinking is DUI for a person under the age of (21) twenty-one, commonly referred to as “Baby DUI”.  In order to be convicted of this charge the state does not have to prove you physical impairment; rather, the state need only show that you had trace amount of alcohol in your system while operating a vehicle.  Possible penalties include:

$1,500 fines and costs

Up to 10 days in jail (9 days suspended if successful completion of alcohol evaluation/treatment)

Loss of driving privileges for up to (2) two years

Community service and probation

Class 1 Misdemeanor on your criminal record

In addition to the above legal penalties, you could be facing other consequences related to your underage drinking charge.  Many Arizona schools have strict codes of conduct regarding underage consumption, which means you could be suspended or expelled from a school if convicted of an underage drinking related charge.  Additionally, you may have to disclose your misdemeanor criminal conviction in an application or interview.

Since the consequences are so severe in Arizona for underage drinking and related crimes it’s important you have a qualified Tucson underage drinking attorney on your side.