What is the Penalty for First Offense DUI in Arizona?

what is the penalty for first offense dui

What is the Penalty for First Offense DUI in Arizona?

According to Arizona law, it is illegal to drive or be in physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drug, a vapor releasing substance that contains a toxic substance, or a combination of these.

Arizona drunk driving laws forbid driving while under the influence of any intoxicating substance if the person is impaired even the slightest degree. Arizona’s law is very strict when it comes to DUI laws. If you’re charged for DUI, seek an attorney as fast as possible.

Penalties For A First-time DUI Offender In Arizona

According to Arizona DUI laws, if you’re found to be in control of a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% or higher, you may be found guilty of DUI. You may also be charged with DUI if you are impaired and under the influence of any amount of alcohol or drugs (both legal prescription medications and over the counter medications).

A first-time offense for DUI with a BAC 0.08% or higher is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor. If you’re a first time offender in Arizona you’ll be subject to the following penalties:

  • Minimum of twenty-four-hour sentence in jail up to a maximum of six months (the minimum sentence is ten days in prison, where nine days of the prison sentence may be suspended);
  • A fine of a minimum of $250 (it can go up to $2,500)
  • Driver’s license suspension from 90 to 360 days
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • Potential probation for 3 years
  • Community service hours
  • Some cases may need a complete drug/alcohol assessment and possibly attend an alcohol education class

Arizona Administrative and Criminal Penalties for DUI

These penalties are classified as both administrative penalties or criminal penalties. This is what you need to know about Arizona DUI penalties:

Drivers arrested for a first offense DUI will an administrative license suspension of 90 days.

Perhaps you won’t need an Ignition Interlock Device, but you may install it under a hardship based agreement in to regain your driver’s license.

If you were arrested for DUI in Arizona you are required to undergo mandatory alcohol and substance abuse screening. You may also have to undergo ongoing alcohol or substance abuse counseling or in-patient treatment as mandated by the court or as part of a DUI defense effort.

The Lookback Period is seven years for previous DUIs, which means that if you had a conviction it will stay on record for seven years in terms of influencing future or subsequent DUI criminal cases.

Driving under the influence is illegal in every state. Arizona’s law is strict and if you’re caught driving under the influence (alcohol or drugs, legal, or illegal) you’ll face harsh penalties.

If you were recently arrested for DUI, no matter how high your BAC level was, make sure you seek an attorney as soon as possible. Our team is here to help you, review your case, and prepare your defense. Don’t risk your freedom by deciding to go into this process without a skilled attorney. Contact our office and schedule your consultation.